Asserting Sovereignty for Biigtigong

We are a progressive First Nation with strategic visioning, growth, prosperity and culture that find balance in the modern era of the Anishnaabe with the traditional value of our ancestors.

Message from
Ogimaa (Chief)

Biigtigong Nishnaabeg wish to remind everyone that we are the original owners of our Ancestral Lands. We have not signed on to any treaty. We have not adhered to any treaty. Therefore all our Ancestral Lands are ” unceded land”. This means that we are still the owners of the land and all of the resources.

~Chief Duncan Michano


Biigtigong Nishnaabeg is governed by a duly elected Chief and 11 councillors every two years. Each councillor are responsible for their respective portfolios, to attend meetings where required and reporting back to the Council.

Chief and Council

Chief Duncan Michano
Deputy Chief Leah Michano
Donald Michano
Sharon Ostberg

Garland Moses
Erin Shaw
Randal Courchene
Donovan Crosson